Finally…a WHOLE day at home…I hope!

I’ve been waiting for things to slow down a bit.  I think maybe this is THE day!  I am actually home all day and am going to do home things like clean and iron!  And, I am actually looking forward to it!  I am such a homebody.  It really gets me “off” when I am running here and there every day…well, driving somewhere every day!  I thought about taking up running, but that thought didn’t last long!

I actually substituted for two days this week.  I thought that would make my life seem back to normal.  It was with my old kindergarten class, though, and just made me more tired!  I did enjoy seeing how the kids have grown and how many teeth they had lost or had growing back in.  There were even four new students in class that had just come right here at the end of the year which makes every teacher happy! 🙂   There are only three weeks of actual school left.  The very last week is used for tutoring and working with those that need extra help.  The only time I seem to really miss being a full-time teacher is at the end of the  school year…except for when I remember that I spent most weeks going to some kind of seminar or meeting and really did not have “the whole summer off” like most people think school teachers do.   Oh, and then there is the end-of-year cleaning out your room part and getting ready for the new year part and never mind…I just don’t miss it!

My mother is still at the nursing home.  She told me yesterday that she wants her car there where she can go visit her cousin.  She said that she will take the “back way” like I do.  I said…well, there are still a lot of cars on the “back way” and you haven’t driven in about three years and they do not allow you to have a car there anyway.  She said…THEY DON’T???  WHY NOT???  I said…because I imagine they are worried that you will sneak out and get in the car and kill yourself (or someone else) and they will be liable.  She said that she hadn’t thought about that!  So…I am starting to be a little suspicious that she is planning her escape soon! 🙂

Ranch Hand went back to the doctor on Monday.  They did ANOTHER culture, gave him more medicine and said to come back in two weeks for a “scope.”  He is feeling better and able to go to work, but still comes home tired and sleeps most of the time he is home.  I don’t know if that is from being sick or just from his schedule.  I came home and went to bed yesterday after just working two days! 🙂  He works TWO jobs!

I so enjoyed GRANDgirl #3 being here last week.  She jabbers from the time she wakes up until the time she goes to bed.  She actually has reflection in her voice like she is carrying on a conversation with you.  Her word vocabulary just consists of bye, mama, baby and hi, but she talks anyway…ALL day!  I think it is hilarious!  She is just about to walk.

Thursday my son and GRANDgirls #1 and #2 are coming down.  Their mama is going to a retreat so my son is hightailing it down here because he doesn’t want to take care of the girls by himself! 🙂  Seriously, he has offered to help us “work” the cows this weekend which will be a great help.  All we are going to do is round them up, put them in the chute one at a time, and pour some stuff down their backs that keep them “bug and worm” free.  It is so much easier to do when we have help, though!

Sweet Thang’s baby calf is doing great!  We’ve had another new baby born, too, and it had no problems at all!  The grass is greening up and we are all very happy about the recent rain!!!  We sat outside yesterday evening and ate our $1/off Tuesday DQ burgers in the wonderful sunshine and took time to look at the garden.  The wind is back blowing today, but that’s okay…I am so happy to be here at my ponderosa…one more day!!!

About ponderosamel

I'm a daughter, wife, mother, and finally a grandmother living out my dream of living on our family farm. We actually don't farm, but we do raise a few cattle. I enjoy planting a spring garden, making many of the cows my pets, and just getting my hands in good, rich soil. I also enjoy cooking, my family and gazing about the countryside from my front porch!
This entry was posted in Aging, Family, Grandchildren, Life, Ranching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally…a WHOLE day at home…I hope!

  1. Glad things are getting back to semi-normal. What’s normal anyway??? Will sure miss seeing everyone this weekend! Shelby can hardly contain herself. I asked “who’s going to Marmie and Papa’s this week?” in the car yesterday and Shelby yelled MEEEE!!! She’s so excited!

Leave a comment