Happy First Birthday Grandgirl #3

She came on the first full day of spring, but it was anything but spring-like here on the farm.  We got the “in-labor call” about 11:30pm the night before, but Ranch Hand said that the roads had patchy ice and it was below freezing, so we would wait until daylight to make the trip.  It was just as well; it took me that long to get everything ready for me to go stay for “a week” or so!

She was born around 5:30am weighing in at 6pounds 5 ounces.  We could hardly believe that anyone from our family could weigh so little, but she was, after all, two weeks early.  When we arrived, we could also hardly believe how tiny she was!  We held her and were very infatuated with every tiny detail!  Things seemed to be going well.  Ranch Hand had to go back home the next day, but I stayed and everyone came home from the hospital the following day.  We settled into getting everything “settled.”

My “week or so” stay turned into a month as she had some feeding problems being so tiny and a little early.  We made many trips to the pediatrician for check-ups and weigh-ins and when she finally began to gain weight, we were so relieved!  I don’t think she has stopped gaining since, even though she is still in the lower “norm” range on her weight and height.  We all think she looks perfectly and wonderfully beautiful, however!!!

She jabbers from the moment she awakes until the moment she goes to sleep and smiles at everyone and everything.  To me, she is just a little miniature of her mama!  It is such a blessing to watch this little life grow!

Happy First Birthday to our precious GRANDgirl #3!  We love  you so very much!!!

About ponderosamel

I'm a daughter, wife, mother, and finally a grandmother living out my dream of living on our family farm. We actually don't farm, but we do raise a few cattle. I enjoy planting a spring garden, making many of the cows my pets, and just getting my hands in good, rich soil. I also enjoy cooking, my family and gazing about the countryside from my front porch!
This entry was posted in Family, Gardening, Grandchildren, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy First Birthday Grandgirl #3

  1. Melissa Montgomery Sneed says:

    Very sweet! I know exactly how you feel. I love her name also. She looks so precious in this pic!

Leave a comment